grey divider line
Print Close Window
grey divider line

Members of the Commission of Fine Arts

The Commission of Fine Arts is composed of seven members with expertise in the arts. Appointed by the President, Commission members serve four-year terms without compensation. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected by the members. Past Commission members include architects and landscape architects Daniel Burnham, Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr., Gilmore Clarke, Gordon Bunshaft, and Chloethiel Smith; and artists Daniel Chester French, Francis Millet, Lee Lawrie, Paul Manship, and Frederick Hart. Recent Chairmen of the Commission include William Walton, J. Carter Brown, Harry G. Robinson III, and David M. Childs.

The current members of the Commission are:

Earl A. Powell III, Chair
Appointed 30 August 2012

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Vice-Chair
Appointed 22 May 2008

Philip G. Freelon
Appointed 11 January 2012

Alex Krieger
Appointed 17 September 2012

Elizabeth K. Meyer
Appointed 17 September 2012

Mia Lehrer
Appointed 25 June 2014

Liza Gilbert
Appointed 10 October 2014

Last Modified: October 15, 2014