CFA 16/MAR/06-8

Project name
Presidential One Dollar Coin Program

United States

U.S. Department of the Treasury
U.S. Mint
New obverse designs for the first four coins: Washington, Adams, Jefferson, and Madison
Review Type
Reverse design
Previous Review


Dear Mr. Lebryk:

In the meeting of 16 March, the Commission of Fine Arts reviewed new designs for the obverse of the first four Presidential One-Dollar Coins, using new portraits rather than reproducing the presidential medals normally issued during the incumbent's term of office. The Commission's choices were as follows:

George Washington: Design #12 was the only selection. It was requested that the inscriptions shown and arranged as in Design #3 be used for this and all other coins in the Presidential series.

John Adams: Design #6 was the only selection.

Thomas Jefferson: Design #6 was the first choice, with #10 the second choice.

James Madison: Design #9 was the first choice, with #8 the second choice.

The Commission then looked at the designs for the incused edge lettering and selected the "dot" as the device to be used to separate the inscriptions.


Thomas Luebke, AIA

The Honorable David A. Lebryk, Acting Director
United States Mint
801 9th Street, NW, 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20220

cc: Barbara Bradford, U.S. Mint
Kaarina Budow, U.S. Mint