CFA 20/MAR/14-8

Project name
2015 and 2016 Presidential One Dollar Coin Programs

United States

U.S. Department of the Treasury
U.S. Mint
Obverse designs for the ninth and tenth sets of coins
Review Type


Dear Mr. Peterson:

In its meeting of 20 March, the Commission of Fine Arts reviewed alternative obverse designs for the ninth and tenth sets in the Presidential One Dollar Coin series for issue in 2015 and 2016. The Commission members present provided the following recommendations:

Harry S. Truman. The Commission members supported the reported recommendation of the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC) for alternative #1 as the best portrait.

Dwight D. Eisenhower. The Commission members agreed with the CCAC recommendation to support alternative #2.

John F. Kennedy. The Commission members did not recommend any of the three alternatives. They commented that the downward pose in alternative #1 would not be successful on the coin, placing excessive emphasis on the top of the head; they acknowledged that the design was inspired by Kennedy's White House portrait but said that this painting would not translate well as a sculptural design. They commented that the portrait in alternative #2, while not a satisfactory likeness, may have the best potential for development as a suitable design.

Lyndon B. Johnson. The Commission members recommended alternative #4 with the suggestion to lower the position of the head to provide greater separation from the lettering at the top of the composition.

Richard M. Nixon. The Commission members supported the CCAC recommendation for alternative #1, commenting on the firmness of character conveyed by the portrait.

Gerald R. Ford. The Commission members supported the CCAC recommendation for alternative #4.

As there was not a quorum for the review of the submission, these recommendations will be placed on the administrative agenda for confirmation at the Commission's meeting of 17 April. As always, the staff is available to assist you with future submissions.


/s/Thomas E. Luebke, FAIA

Richard A. Peterson, Deputy Director
United States Mint
801 9th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20220